Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Home
Chatham's COVID-19 informational website
Archives COVID-19 Collection Project
  | | Click to open/download a PDF of Full Library Calendar in a new window2021-22 Calendar

 

LIBRARY TECHNICAL SERVICES

Student Publications at Chatham University - Collection Procedures
                      Collection and Access Policies: https://library.chatham.edu/studentwork/policies
I. Introduction
        The online versions of the student publications at Chatham University are managed by a series of staff-created scripts and non-profit/educational provider hosts. This in-house program also can track the intake of physical materials, as well as manage the current influx of digitally required documents (50-150 docs a semester/3 semesters a yr).
The student will get an email. approx. 4-5 weeks before graduation, with instructions for stating the requirements for an online agreement page, which will guide them to an upload page. Within 1-48 hours after the submission, the student will get a confirmation email. This time is necessary since it is an un-automated procedure that checks for system compatibility, virus debugging, and other specified requirements that have to be moderated by the library.
The documents will be fully processed within 1-3 months after receipt, with the following caveats: Undergraduate and OTD Capstones reside behind a username/password portal, making them only accessible by Chatham Community (as per faculty request). But all other capstones, theses, and dissertations are open to the public. All graduate materials are also indexed in a full-text word-search database that is also created/managed by the aformentioned in-house program. In the future we will begin integrating undergraduate work into a full-text database, as well as explore other means of retrospective converting historic Chatham Undergraduate Tutorials that currently reside in print-only format (1941-2010). There are a few pre-2010 Tutorials that have been digitized - with the blessing of their respective authors - in their attempts to retrieve a PDF processed by the library as part of a service to the alumni.

II-Processing
 a.Programs utilized
    1.jk3.xyz : Hosted by Dreamhost (supports https, php, python...) Contains individual web pages that have embedded scripts to direct flows, communicate data, and record traffic.
    2.Springshare : Hosted by Chatham (resides behind institutional authentication) For OTD Capstones and undergraduate works that are to be password-protected
    3.Amazon S3 : AWS Buckets for each format (Dissertation, Capstone, Thesis, Undergraduate) open to the public
    4.MediaFire : Secure virus-scanning file upload and managing platform
    5.\\ULIB01\Library\Resources drive : works as a file back-up and a sandbox for moving files into place
    6.Outlook Email : for corresponding with students and advisors
    7.Degree Conferral Applications spreadsheet on MyChatham
    8.Adobe Acrobat Professional for processing (OCR and securing) PDFs
    7.Koha - Library Catalog

b.Procedures
    1.Charts
    2.Forms
    3.Spreadsheet
    4.Email
    5.Intake
    6.Confirmation
    7.File arrangement
    8.Conversions
    9.Cataloging
    10.HTML & FTP
    11.SQL/PHP

III-Correspondence
a.Initial email (bcc'd to targeted groups)
b.Follow-up Schedule
c.Advisor notification

IV-Availablitizing
a.Koha mapping
b.Keyword FT - https://library.chatham.edu/cuftsgrasp
c.Electronic Usage stats (Google Analytics)


 

Variable dates

  • MARC header - 008 = First year 4-digit, Last year 4-digit (m20082009)
  • Description - 260 = imprint year (the First year, usually on the title page; or listed elsewhere signifying the year of manuscript's printing/completion)     
  • Added entry - 700 1 = year of graduation
  • Spine call number = year of graduation 

FILE CREATION (Student interaction automated)

1: Agreement

2: Upload (main)

3. Upload (aux)

4. Paper Delivery

CATALOGING

5: KOHA fields: 001 - 999

6: 502

7: 856 

POST-CAT

8: Data transferred in tables

9: Re-up txt

10: Clean data and close FILE

END OF SEMESTER

11: Upload FILES to Glacier

12: Label and delivery print to Archives

13: Refresh tables/ prep for next semester


:
The Library is


    Visit us on Instagram    Listen to our playlists on Spotify   Visit us on YouTube Visit us on Twitter
 

Jennie King Mellon Library | 0 Woodland Road | Pittsburgh, PA 15232 | 412-365-1670 | Maps & Directions | Site map
 

Chatham Home