Primary Sources: Civil War Primary Sources

Primary source sets from the period of the Civil War. Includes sets relating to women, African-Americans, social history, and the South.

Over 7,000 battlefield and portrait photographs and glass negatives.

Digitized membership records, personal war sketch questionnaires, and transfer cards from the Captain Thomas Espy Grand Army of the Republic Post #153, made available by the Andrew Carnegie Free Library & Music Hall in Carnegie, Pennsylvania.

Civil War manuscript and archival holdings from the Pritzker Military Museum and Library in Chicago, IL. Sources digitally available through Hathitrust.

Over 3,000 maps from the Civil War. Includes official battlefield/troop movement maps, as well as private maps from diaries and personal correspondences.

Various Civil War photographs arranged in broad categories.

Collection of first-person accounts of Wisconsin soldiers and citizens during the Civil War. Handwritten documents provided with transcript.

Collection of primary sources related to President Grant and a number of influential statesmen from the Civil War.

Compilation of official records of the Union and Confederate Armies.

Primary sources concerning the causes, conduct, and consequences of the Civil War provided by the Schoenberg Center at the University of Pennsylvania.

Includes 8 diaries and 29 letters written by men in the 1860s whomhad connections to Michigan and/or the Midwest.

Contains a number of governmental, social, and military primary sources from the Civil War.

Collections of primary sources from the colonial to reconstruction eras.

The digitized Civil War archival holdings at Michigan State includes correspondences, diaries, musters, and photographs.

Digitally available collections of Civil War era diaries, etching, and Pennsylvania newspapers.

Contains books, music, photographs, illustrations, letters, and diaries from South Carolina soldiers, women, and African-Americans during the Civil War

Select diaries and journals, 1861-1865, made available from the University of Notre Dame Archive and Special Collections.

Selected bibliographies that include primary sources.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Richmond, Virginia

Provides information about places, battlefields, and camps. Notably houses the soldiers and sailors database which provides information about confederate and union soldiers-regimental histories, battles, actions, POW records, and death records.

The National Archives are the United State's repository for historical sources related to the nation's past.

Contains written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music covering architecture, landscape, advertising, performing arts, and more.

Images and descriptions of thousands of artworks.

Digitized collections highlighting the lives of slaves and the children of slaves.

Three online collections highlighting women's experiences during the US Civil War.

Over 7,400 items spaning the years 1841-1964.

Provides primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.

Historical newspaper published in Richmond, VA (former Confederate States of America Capital) from 1860-1865. Over 1,300 issues made available by the University of Richmond.

Contains letters and diaries from 1862-1865, with links to the Lincoln digital collection and special collections' Civil War resources.

Letters and diaries, personal and official, from the Civil War. All handwritten pages are view-able with a transcript.

Produced by the University of Virginia, the site details two communities during the Civil War. Includes letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, and census data.