Primary Sources: Art & Design Primary Sources

Photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.

Thousands of images of original art, tear sheets, and printed materials from the world's most comprehensive collection of cartoon art.

Over 40,000 images of western art and architecture.

Images and descriptions of thousands of artworks.

This site offers information regarding well-known symbols in funerary art, including examples of each image.

Images of funerary art throughout the world spanning ancient to modern times.

The Smithsonian Institute's photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.

Native North American visual artists and artwork.

Collection contains thousands of images of original art, tear sheets, and printed materials from the world's most comprehensive collection of cartoon art.

Over 40,000 images of western art and architecture.

Images and descriptions of thousands of artworks.

Collection documenting iconic mid-century Modernist house.

Images and maps documenting of regional architecture, gardens, and design.

Over 40,000 images of western art and architecture.

Search the digital collection of historical product information from Herman Miller..

Over 85,000 images from the collections of the British Architectural Library.

Over 30,000 drawings, photographs, letters and other materials related to Marcel Breuer, influential 20th century architect and furniture designer.

Includes iconic television ads, excerpts from stop-motion ads, and early research into lighting of products on color television.

A collection of advertisements from magazines and newspapers in the U.S. and Canada from 1911-1955. The collection focuses on radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

Collection of TV ads from the 1950s to 1980s, including many created by Benton & Bowles ad firm.