Primary Sources: Science Primary Sources

An alphabetized listing of notable women in science throughout history, with biographical information of each woman

An extensive guide list source of African American women in science and related fields of study.

The digitized collections at CMU cover a range of topics, including the American Journal of Science, 1818-1895, a robotic exhibit, artificial intelligence, and the Clifford Glenwood Schull, winner of the 1994 Noble Prize in Physics.

The digital collections include works by Copernicus, rare books, portraits of notable scientists, and title pages of over 8,000 science journals.

A collection of two hundred primary sources related to science in Latin America and the Caribbean.

This site includes over 1,000 books and 16 journals related to home economics in the United States between 1850-1950.

An extensive collection of primary sources covering a wide range of topics in the history of science that are arranged by time period and location.

An extensive collection of various topics in the history of science, including astronomy, dinosaur discovery, cosmoogy, engineering, mathematics, and technology.

This collection includes a searchable index to sixteen scientific journals published in the 19th century.

The largest collection of primary sources created by or about Sir Isaac Newton.

A collection of thousands of oral histories of modern scientists conducted by the AIP Center for History of Physics.

An interactive website that teaches the history of printing presses in early modern Europe.

A digital collection of 341 motion pictures, 81 disc sound recordings, and similar related items of the Edison Company.

Over 600 primary sources from various time periods and locations related to the history of technology. The majority of sources are European in origin, but also include Africa, Asia, and North and South America.

A digital collection of 330 titles in Darwin's library, many of which focus on scientific topics.

Organism names gathered for Thomson Reuter's Zoological Records database. Names include year of discovery.

These printed illustrations are single sheets, similar to broadsides, that depict the body using layers or flaps that can be lifted to reveal internal organs and other body parts, mimicking what one would find upon dissection.

A digital collection of papers important to the history of chemistry.

Covers many areas of internal medicine including screening for cancer or other major diseases, diagnosis, treatment and medical technology.

This collection houses over 70,000 images, including portraits, photographs, caricatures, posters, and graphic art, that depict scenes of the social and historical aspects of medicine between the 15th to 21st century.

Collection of historical medical instruments and artifacts, art objects, realia, and other three-dimensional objects related to the history of medicine.

A collection of academic essays and thousands of primary sources covering the influence epidemic in the United States in 1918.

A collection of primary sources related to major disease and epidemic outbreaks throughout history. It includes digitized books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts.