Primary Sources: African History

Offers online viewing of antique maps of Africa

This site features 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of audio from forty-five countries within Africa.

Historical timelines of African history with related primary sources

This site is a collection of various digital libraries focusing on African history.

The Ancient World Mapping Center is an interdisciplinary program that studies and promotes historical cartography and geography. There are numerous free historical maps on their web-page.

This resource makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices from 1948 until 1980.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

This site is a digital collection of primary sources related to exploration of the Congo region between 1909 to 1915 by American Museum of Natural History employee Herbert Lang and museum volunteer James Chapin.

A digital collection of nearly 1,400 papyrus images from ancient Egypt.

This site is a digital collection of primary sources related to the Giza area of Egypt, most notably primary sources from the longest running excavation of Giza between 1902 to 1947.

Contains over 600 articles, over 60 ebooks, and links to almost 6,000 web sites dealing with a wide range of topics within the discipline of history. Emphasis is on primary sources.

This collection include over 7,600 photographs from the east Africa region, which were originally assembled by British collector Humphrey Winterton.

A collection of over 700 late-19th and early-20th century images depicting European reactions and observations to colonialism efforts throughout the world, including Africa.

This site is collection of photographic images from Protestant and Catholic mission trips throughout the world.

This is an extensive collection of primary sources related to African history, broken down by both countries of origin and time periods.

A collection of several thousand prints and photographs of the Middle East region between the 17th and 20th centuries.

The Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory is dedicated to preserving and sharing the message of Nelson Mandela, former president of South Africa. The digital archives collection houses many primary resources created by or about Mandela and his life work.

Provides links to websites containing oral history information.

The Oriental Institute works to recover and preserve the history, languages, and cultures of the ancient near East. This collection consists of mostly photographic images of various excavation efforts.

This collection consists of over 1,200 images of the Atlantic slave trade, including sources from African countries, and slave life in the Americas.

This archive was founded in 1957 following Sudanese independence and consists mostly of official and personal letters, images, and sound recordings.

This extensive collaborative database houses information and primary sources related to more than 35,000 slave voyages of the Trans-Atlantic slave trade.

Extensive collection of still images detailing Protestant and Catholic Missionary work from ca. 1860- ca. 1960, includes some written works.

This site provides various primary sources of nations throughout the world, concentrating on history from a working-class and non-Eurocentric perspective.