Primary Sources: American History

Provides full text access to documents in American History going from 1000 AD to the present.

Digital materials from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, covering American history from the first European settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource

Provides full text access to documents in law, history, and diplomacy.

An extensive collection of primary sources found within American history, including images and written works.

Contains over 600 articles, over 60 ebooks, and links to almost 6,000 web sites dealing with a wide range of topics within the discipline of history. Emphasis is on primary sources.

Includes archival primary source materials from LGBTs, feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, anarchists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines.

A free and open access collection maintained by a nonprofit organization.

This site contains 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles related to the social history of the United States from the antebellum era through reconstruction.

Vast collection of significant historical content created by public media.

Focusing on the twentieth-century black press, Black Quotidian presents ideas, sounds, images, and movements that are so important to African-American history

Allows users to search a directory of 23,000 American newspaper titles published from 1690 to the present

A collection of historical newspapers within the United States that are arranged by state.

Local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. in the 1920s.

Contains information on over 850,000 news stories. Some may be available through streaming video.

Over 120,000 records of data, documents, elections, and media from the presidents of the United States.

This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan.

Contains written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music covering architecture, landscape, advertising, performing arts, and more.

The National Archives are the United States' repository for historical sources related to the nation's past.

Resources related to the history of the US National Park Service

Contains a wealth of information about Anglo-American relations during Nixon's presidency, but also information and documents regarding the Nixon years in general.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

Official reports of decisions for the U.S. Supreme Court from 1754 to the present.

Provides access to many reports prepared for US Congress on issues affecting citizenry.

Provides primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.

"A public program... dedicated to the documentation, presentation, and support of Virginia's rich cultural heritage." Contains folklife recordings and videos.

Browse through UC Berkeley's oral histories by subjects including business, law, politics, sciences, and more. Not everything is full text but PDFs are included when available.

Provides information on WWI, including battles, memoirs and diaries, primary documents, photos, and much more.

Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

This site is a collection of primary resources related to individual liberty and free markets. There are numerous works related to the American Revolutionary War.

Provides information on the sixties, including articles, personal narratives, primary documents, and much more. A great deal of the information relates to the Vietnam war.

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

Contains documents, images, resources for teachers, and much more information dealing with the Vietnam War.

A history of the Tulsa Race Massacre with photos, documents, and oral histories from survivors.

Focusing on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and cities and towns in North Carolina, this collection provides digital access to pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories about the African American experience.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource

A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s

Contains primary source material, including unedited news film, about the people, places, events, and more of the Civil Rights Movement.

Digital materials held at the National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, D.C. Many images are within the Smithsonian Institution's Open Access Initiative.

Speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by staff and participants at Fisk University's Race Relations Department and annual institute, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

Primary source resources for slavery and abolition studies, providing documents between 1490 and 2007. Special attention is given to varieties of slavery, slavery's legacy, the social-justice perspective and slavery's existence today.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

Over 410,000 pages from books, pamphlets, serials, manuscripts, archival collections and photographs documenting the lives of immigrants.