Skip to main content
Library Home
  -
VIRTUAL SERVICES AVAILABLE:MON-THUR
7:45am-10pm
FRIDAY
7:45am-5pm
SATURDAY
11am-7pm
SUNDAY
12 noon-10pm
* THE BUILDING IS OPEN: 
7:45am-7pm
7:45am-5pm
closed
5pm-10pm
  

 

Primary Sources: Regional History

JKM Library's guide for finding primary soures

Pennsylvania History

Libraries and Archives

Pittsburgh History Museums and Historic Sites

Pittsburgh and PA Magazines and Newpapers

Pittsburgh and PA History Data Sets

Pittsburgh and PA Oral History and AV Collections

Pittsburgh Resources

Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center 
The History Center collects materials that document the lives of Western Pennsylvanians and the work of the region up to the present.

Historic Pittsburgh 
A comprehensive collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of the western Pennsylvania area. Contains maps, images, full-text, census records, and more.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh Resource List 
Provides links to information and research databases dealing with Pittsburgh, including information about Andrew Carnegie, Pittsburgh history, genealogy, and much more. The Carnegie Library also has a Pennsylvania Department at the main branch in Oakland that you can visit.

Teenie Harris Archive at the Carnegie Museum of Art 
Provides access to photographs by Teenie Harris, photographer for the Pittsburgh Courier, who focused on the events and daily life of African Americans

Historic Pittsburgh Image Collections: Chatham University 
View photos from Chatham history.

League of Women Voters: Pittsburgh 
Provides information on political issues in the Pittsburgh area.

Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area 
Contains information on Pittsburgh's steel-making history as well as ideas for educators.

 


         -

     
MONDAY-THURSDAY:   7:45 AM - 12 AM
FRIDAY:   7:45 AM - 7:00 PM
SATURDAY:    8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
SUNDAY:   12 NOON - 12 AM
Click to open/download a PDF of Full Library Calendar in a new windowLibrary Semester & Holiday Calendar
        Listen to our playlists on Spotify  

Jennie King Mellon Library | 0 Woodland Road | Pittsburgh, PA 15232 | 412-365-1670 | Maps & Directions | Site map
 

Chatham Home