JKM Library: Political Science: Regional History

	: Spring 2024 Library Hours

Pennsylvania History

Bethlehem Digital History Project
Digitized primary source materials, transcriptions, translations and contextual information relating to the early history of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 1741 – 1844
Digital Collections at Penn Library
Access wide range of subject areas, including agriculture, the Civil War era, geology and geography of PA, labor history, PA history, Penn State history, and political protest.
Greater Philadelphia GeoHistory Network
1000s of old maps, property atlases, city directories, industrial site surveys, etc documenting the Philadelphia history from the 1600s to present.
Philly History
Contains over 2 million photos dating from the late 1800'sand searchable by keyword, date, neighborhood, etc.

Libraries and Archives

Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese Archives and Records Center
Archival and records repository for central diocesan administration, parishes, schools and all other diocesan related institutions and organizations.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - PA Department
The Pennsylvania Department, housed on the third floor of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main, specializes in local history and genealogy research.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh Photographic Library
Contains over 18,000 images from a photography project initiated by the Allegheny Conference on Community Development to highlight the redevelopment of Downtown Pittsburgh during the early 1950’s.
Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives
Created in 1984 to collect, conserve and promote the use of architectural records that document the architects and architecture of Pittsburgh and the tri-state region of western Pennsylvania, eastern Ohio and northern West Virginia.
Carnegie Mellon University Archives
Home to more than 100 years of CMU's history. Examples of Archives material include academic department records, student organization records, faculty and alumni papers, and publications like the Tartan, the Thistle, and the Faculty Bulletin.
Carnegie Museum of Art Archives
Records, objects, and ephemera from the history of the museum.
Carnegie Museum of Natural History Institutional Archives
Records of enduring value, which were created by museum staff and others associated with the museum, and provide essential evidence of the development of collections and research since 1896.
Darlington Digital Library at the University of Pittsburgh
Created from the first major collection of books, manuscripts, atlases, maps and artwork donated to the University of Pittsburgh
Duquesne University Archives and Special Collections
Repository for historical information about the Duquesne University's schools, departments, people, events, buildings and activities.
Heinz History Center Detre Library & Archives
The Thomas & Katherine Detre Library & Archives at the Senator John Heinz History Center is Western Pennsylvania’s preeminent source for researching the region’s rich history.
Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation
The Hunt Institute acquires and maintains authoritative collections of books, plant images, manuscripts, portraits and data files, and provides publications and other modes of information service.
Pittsburgh History and Landmarks Frank B. Fairbanks Rail Transportation Archive
Mr. Fairbanks spent his entire adult life riding, documenting, and collecting material from rail lines all over the world. Starting in the 1950s and continuing to the end of his life in 2005, he logged nearly 200,000 rail miles traveled, a feat surpassed by few other people in the world.
Pittsburgh History and Landmarks James D. Van Trump Library
Books, manuscripts, periodicals, historic site survey data, photographs and other visual documentation (slide collections and shows), maps and plat books, renderings and blueprints, and other materials pertaining to the activities of Landmarks, regional history, Allegheny County Historic Buildings Survey, African American History Survey, architecture, historic preservation, urban planning, engineering and technological development, interior design, and landscape design.
Pittsburgh Theological Seminary Archives
Seminary and antecedent seminary institutional records, manuscript collections, personal papers, photographs, and artifacts. Other materials housed in the Archives document the histories of the Associate, Associate Reformed, United Presbyterian, and Presbyterian (U.S.A.) congregations, synods, and general assemblies.
Rivers of Steel Archives
Repository for thousands of donated and sourced items that tell the story of the Pittsburgh Industrial District’s domination of the steel industry throughout the better part of the 20th century.
University of Pittsburgh Archives & Special Collections
Archives & Special Collections (A&SC) is one of western Pennsylvania's largest repositories for manuscripts, rare books, photographs, microfilm, maps, audio visual materials, and more.
UPMC Mercy Archives
Pittsburgh's medical history from the early years of caring for epidemic patients to state-of-the-art trauma and also highlights the contributions of the Pittsburgh Sisters of Mercy to the health care of the community.

Pittsburgh History Museums and Historic Sites

Bushy Run Battlefield
Provides tours, exhibits, and educational programs about the Battle at Bushy Run.
Fort Pitt Museum
Contains information about "Western Pennsylvania's pivotal role during the French & Indian War, the American Revolution, and as the birthplace of Pittsburgh. "
Pittsburgh History & Landmarks Foundation
Contains links to articles about various Pittsburgh landmarks, ideas for educators, programs and services, and more.
Rachel Carson Homestead
Provides information about Rachel Carson and her family, education materials, and other resources.
Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area
Contains information on Pittsburgh's steel-making history as well as ideas for educators.
Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center
"The History Center collects materials that document the lives of Western Pennsylvanians and the work of the region up to the present."
Walking Tours of Pittsburgh
Provides information on walking tours that you can take to discover more about Pittsburgh's history, as well as information on location, history, architectural styles, and much more.
Documenting Pitt: Historic Publications and Images of the University of Pittsburgh
Bridges and Tunnels of Allegheny County and Pittsburgh, PA
Contains information about the thousands of bridges and tunnels in Allegheny County and Pittsburgh.

Pittsburgh and PA Magazines and Newspapers

Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies
ISBN: 0031-4528
A quarterly journal that publishes the best of current scholarship on the history of the Commonwealth and the region.
Western Pennsylvania History
Presenting scholarship for a broad audience since 1918 as the region’s oldest continuously-published magazine.

Pittsburgh Post Gazette
- March 18, 1916 - September 28, 2007 is available through Google News Archives.
- March 1993 to present is searchable in LexisNexis Academic.
- 1786 - 1985 is searchable in ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
- Several Jewish community newspapers dating between 1890s to 2010 available online via Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Pittsburg Dispatch
- Available from 1889 to 1892 from the Library of Congress.
Squirrel Hill News
- 1935 - 1970 via Historic Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Tribune Review
- Available from September 2004 to present in LexisNexis Academic.
Pittsburgh Business Times
- Current information available online on the Pittsburgh Business Times website.
- The library also keeps the most current 3 months in print.
Pittsburgh Magazine
- Current information available online on the Pittsburgh Magazine website.
- The library also has July 1999 to present in print.
Other Pittsburgh Newspapers
- Google New Archives also contains a number of other historical Pittsburgh newspapers.
- Heinz History Center's Detre Library & Archives contains several notable collections of community and club newsletters from around the region.
- Carnegie Library's Main Branch provides access to 19th Century Newspapers, including some from PA (library card required).
Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001 is searchable in Proquest Historical Newspapaers.
- Penn State's Civil War Newspaper Collection contains several PA newspaper titles (newspapers not accessible online)
- Historic Newspapers Online includes 143 different titles from Pennsylvania.
- Pennsylvania Gazette from 1728 to 1800 is available through Accessible Archives.

Pittsburgh and PA History Data Sets

Pittsburgh Crime Statistics
Provides information on the Pittsburgh police and an annual report of crime statistics.
Southwestern Pennsylvania Community Profiles [temporarily unavailable]
View a wide variety of statistics and data, including demographic, health, environmental, human services, education, and much more for 10 southwestern PA counties - by county, neighborhood, zip code, school district, and more!
U.S. Census Bureau: Pittsburgh data
Use the "Geographies" category on the right to view Census Data from Pittsburgh, including social, economic, housing, demographic, and narrative data. The Census Bureau website may contain other information on Pittsburgh as well.
Western PA Regional Data Center
Provides a shared techl and legal infrastructure to support research, analysis, decision making, and community engagement with open data sets

Pittsburgh and PA Oral History and AV Collections

Preserving Appalachian Voices
Field recordings documenting families and communities in an area that stretches from Parkersburg, West Virginia to the coal region of Northeastern Pennsylvania.
The People’s Media Record
Media documentation of PA community organizations working at the intersection of race, technology and inequality.
Pittsburgh and Beyond: The Experience of the Jewish Community
Online interviews provide info on the Jewish community's impact on academic, business, civic, cultural, medical, political, religious, and social evolution and development in Pittsburgh, as well as national and international events.
In Sisterhood Project
Oral history interviews with activists involved in the women’s movement in Pittsburgh (1967-1987).
WQED On Demand
Hundreds of videos documenting regional development and community views.
The Allegheny Front: Environmental Radio
According to its website, "The Allegheny Front is a radio program covering environmental issues in Western Pennsylvania." You can both listen to and read the archived news stories on their website.
Pittsburgh Queer History Project
The Pittsburgh Queer History Project (PQHP) is an oral history and media archive, focusing on LGBT nightlife in Pittsburgh, PA from 1960 to 1990.

Pittsburgh Resources

Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center
The History Center collects materials that document the lives of Western Pennsylvanians and the work of the region up to the present.

Historic Pittsburgh
A comprehensive collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of the western Pennsylvania area. Contains maps, images, full-text, census records, and more.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh Resource List
Provides links to information and research databases dealing with Pittsburgh, including information about Andrew Carnegie, Pittsburgh history, genealogy, and much more. The Carnegie Library also has a Pennsylvania Department at the main branch in Oakland that you can visit.

Teenie Harris Archive at the Carnegie Museum of Art
Provides access to photographs by Teenie Harris, photographer for the Pittsburgh Courier, who focused on the events and daily life of African Americans

Historic Pittsburgh Image Collections: Chatham University
View photos from Chatham history.

League of Women Voters: Pittsburgh
Provides information on political issues in the Pittsburgh area.

Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area
Contains information on Pittsburgh's steel-making history as well as ideas for educators.