Political Science: Food History Primary Sources

Website for searching and comparing authors, their works and the details of their works regarding food and related topics.

This collection of over 30,000 historical menus illustrates the history of dining in America and abroad, with menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines.

This library currently lists 190+ books and collections, referenced in The Jemima Code and more, from 1828 to the present day.

Online, keyword searchable access to items from UCLA, UC Berkeley and Prelinger Libraries

Compiled by University of Southern Mississippi (USM) History Professor and USM Special Collections, this collection includes documentation of how the cookbooks were compiled and touch on issues such as race relations, economic development, and the influence of international cuisines and life on Mississippians.

The Southern Foodways Alliance documents, studies, and explores the diverse food cultures of the changing American South.

This resource contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).

Listing of libraries containing substantial collections on food history. Some resources may be accessible online.

Rich collections available through consult with repository archivist.

A collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of Western Pennsylvania

Wide variety of sources on agriculture, rural communities, and food systems.

This collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.