Political Science: European History

750 photographs of every-day life in the Soviet Union

The Ancient World Mapping Center is an interdisciplinary program that studies and promotes historical cartography and geography. There are numerous free historical maps on their web-page.

A collection of legal documents from medieval and early modern England.

An electronic repository related to European integration and unification that consists primarily of independently produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents.

Provides full text access to documents in law, history, and diplomacy.

Over 30,000 items ranging from sketches, photographs, literature, and laws available electronically from the British Library

85,000 historical films from 1922 to 1969

This site links to all of the digital collections housed through the Oxford University Library, spanning a wide range of time and topics in the British Empire history.

A collection of assembled primary documents related to European history, arranged by time period and nation. All of the links are widely accessible and free web-sites.

This site is a joint initiative of the Library and Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute. It is a collection of digital repositories of primary sources related to European history, arranged by time period, nation, language, subject, and type of source.

A collaborative web-site between over 40 European libraries and institutions, the European Library is searachable collection of several million primary resources located at the institutions.

Primary sources for the study of the Great War, divided into four themes: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and a Global Conflict.
You must log in to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

Provides information on WWI, including battles, memoirs and diaries, primary documents, photos, and much more.

A collection of various historical primary sources spanning ancient through modern European history.

This site houses the historic Hansard reports, a transcript of Parliament debates in the UK.

Contains over 600 articles, over 60 ebooks, and links to almost 6,000 web sites dealing with a wide range of topics within the discipline of history. Emphasis is on primary sources.

The Imperial War Museums consist of five museums throughout the UK that focus on the history of Great Britain and modern wars. The online collection consists of a portion of the museums entire collection, spanning documents, photographs, books, films, and interviews.

A digitzed collection of six journals from the 18th and 19th centuries. Journals include the Annual Register, an annual survery of European and world events, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, a literary journal, The Builder, a source for domestic and foreign building developments, Gentleman's Magazine, a collection of information of people, places, and events in Britain, Notes and Queries, a source of brief reports of completed research in the humanities, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, a forum for scientific publishings.

The online collections of the National Archives of the UK.

Provides links to websites containing oral history information.

A collection of digital repositories related to social history and the history of the labor movement from the late 18th to 21st century.

A collection of digital repositories related to social history and the history of the labor movement from the late 18th to 21st century.