Political Science: Women's History Primary Sources

Digitized collections highlighting the lives of slaves and the children of slaves.

A digital collection of American Jewess, a magazine aimed at Jewish women in the United States.

Digital collections including broadsides and printed ephemera, manuscripts, and documents related to women's suffrage.

Three online collections highlighting women's experiences during the US Civil War.

A searchable index of 600 digital collections of American women's history.

This site includes various speeches, articles, and other primary sources related to Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.

Documents pertaining to American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries, especially pertaining to women.
You must login to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

This site includes digitized collections of archival records related to women's history and women's education at the "Five Colleges": Amherst, Hampshire, Mt. Holyoke, Smith, and UMass.

This site includes primary sources related to the history of women in education, mostly centered in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Digital collections include the Betty Friedan Paper, the Beecher-Stowe Family papers, the Charlotte Perkins Gilman papers, and the Women's Educational and Industrial Union Records.

The Revolution, a weekly women’s rights newspaper, was the official publication of the National Woman Suffrage Association formed by feminists Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony to secure women’s enfranchisement through a federal constitutional amendment

Over 420 images of published trial narratives from the Harvard University School of Law Library.

A comprehensive research guide to online collections related to women's history.

This site includes digital collections of images, online exhibits, oral histories, and audio and video recordings covering reproductive rights, women's rights, suffrage, women's movement, labor, and family life.

Over 100 diaries written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe

This site includes correspondence, clippings, college records, images, diaries, publications, and ephemera related to the history of women physicians.

This collection documents the history of women working in the United States between 1800-1930.

Collection of materials found in archives of schools formerly known as the "Seven Sisters."

Divided into five thematic sections, the project provides access to original British source material for those looking for sources to support gender studies in history, literature, sociology and education.
You must login to your Chatham account in order to access this resource

Documents from the United States, the U.K., and Canada with regard to the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.
You must login to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE

A collection of digital repositories related to social history and the history of the labor movement from the late 18th to 21st century.

An extensive collection of primary sources related to women's history, spanning ancient to modern times and throughout the world.

This collection includes bilingual access to personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, and material culture of women living in Iran during the Qajar era.

Documents from the U.K. National Archives including finding aids for National Archives collections, as well as documents pertaining to women's suffrage in the British Empire and its colonies.
You must login to your Chatham account in order to access this resource.

Collection of Riot Grrl records available through contact with repository archivist.

Digital teaching modules that explore suffrage through materials in the Radcliffe’s Schlesinger Library.

An alphabetized listing of notable women in science throughout history, with biographical information of each woman

An extensive guide list source of African American women in science and related fields of study.