Native American & Indigenous Hertiage Month

"The archives include federal Indian records placed in the society's custody in 1934 by an act of Congress. Containing more than 3.5 million documents and 6,000 volumes, the collection represents sixty-six tribes. These tribes either were relocated by removal or are native to the area. These records include a variety of official documents and information relating to tribes in Indian and Oklahoma Territory."

Compiled by the American Historical Association as a response to the increase of racial violence in the US. This is a list of educational, academic, and news resources on the history of racist violence. From the website: "Teachers can use them in classrooms to help students understand the history of the present; journalists can draw on them to provide historical context for current events; researchers can draw on them to inform future scholarship. Due to the nature of this history, many of the resources contain references to violence and assault."

Visit the Chatham University Archives' webpage for Native American and Indigenous people's primary sources, compiled by Archivist & Public Services Librarian Molly Tighe. This page includes links to historical newspaper collections, photography, oral histories, law and treaties, artwork, and more archival materials.

"A compilation of Library and other resources at Brown that allow for exploration of the Indigenous experience of native peoples in North America and around the world."

Access archival material from the National Archives related to Native American & Indigenous Heritage Month. View collections, educational materials, and more.

View and access archival resources collected by UC Berkeley.

View and access archival resources collected by USC.

"The Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC) holds the world’s most comprehensive collection of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations newspapers, periodicals, and other publications. Additionally, the SNRC is home to manuscript and special collections, maps, posters, photographs, and audio-visual recordings and is the official repository for the American Indian Library Association correspondence, the National Trail of Tears Association, and the Native American Journalists Association."

Started by academic Debbie Reese (tribally enrolled at Nambe Owingeh), this website and blog takes a deep dive into children's and young adult literature from a Native perspective. Reese features native authors and analyzes Native characters. She is an active and authoritative voice, always seeking to educate non-Natives and advocate for Native populations in literature, especially literature aimed at children. Also, she's just amazing and her blog is a delight to read!

The Carlisle Indian School Project aims to "create a collaborative, sustainable legacy honoring the achievements, struggles, and contributions of the students who attended the Carlisle Indian Industrial School and to bring awareness to the general public of the far-reaching impact of the boarding school era’s goals of education and assimilation."

Based out of the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. The Center includes a significant outreach element focused on increasing educational opportunities for Native American students in environmental sciences, research collaborations, and partnerships with Native American communities to address local environmental problems.

The website for the Cherokee Nation. "The Cherokee Nation is a sovereign tribal government. Upon settling in Indian Territory (present-day Oklahoma) after the Indian Removal Act, the Cherokee people established a new government in what is now the city of Tahlequah, Oklahoma. A constitution was adopted on September 6, 1839, 68 years prior to Oklahoma’s statehood. Today, the Cherokee Nation is the largest tribe in the United States with more than 380,000 tribal citizens worldwide. More than 141,000 Cherokee Nation citizens reside within the tribe’s reservation boundaries in northeastern Oklahoma."

The staff members of First Nations Development Institute have compiled a list of what they consider to be essential reading for anyone interested in the Native American experience. Certain entries on the list are boldfaced, indicating that the employees of First Nations consider them to be “a good place to start.”

Ganondagan State Historic Site located in Victor, NY is a National Historic Landmark, the only New York State Historic Site dedicated to a Native American theme (1987), and the only Seneca town developed and interpreted in the United States. Spanning 569 acres, Ganondagan (ga·NON·da·gan) is the original site of a 17th century Seneca town, that existed there peacefully more than 350 years ago. The culture, art, agriculture, and government of the Seneca people influenced our modern understanding of equality, democratic government, women’s rights, ecology and natural foods.

The Skä•noñh – Great Law of Peace Center is a Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Heritage Center focused on telling the story of the native peoples of central New York. The history is told through the lens of the Onondaga Nation and covers topics such as Creation, European Contact, The Great Law of Peace, and more. The Onondagas, or People of the Hills, are the keepers of the Central Fire and are the spiritual and political center of the Haudenosaunee. Skä•noñh, is an Onondaga welcoming greeting meaning “Peace and Wellness.”

The Indian Arts and Crafts Board (IACB) promotes the economic development of federally recognized American Indians and Alaska Natives (Indians) through the expansion of the Indian arts and crafts market.

"Established in 1990 within the United States, IEN was formed by grassroots Indigenous peoples and individuals to address environmental and economic justice issues (EJ). IEN’s activities include building the capacity of Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect our sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, health of both our people and all living things, and to build economically sustainable communities.

From the site: "Between 1776 and 1887, the United States seized over 1.5 billion acres from America's indigenous people by treaty and executive order. Explore how in this interactive map of every Native American land cession during that period."

"The Iroquois Indian Museum is an educational institution dedicated to fostering understanding of Iroquois culture using Iroquois art as a window to that culture. The Museum is a venue for promoting Iroquois art and artists, and a meeting place for all peoples to celebrate Iroquois culture and diversity. As an anthropological institution, it is informed by research on archaeology, history, and the common creative spirit of modern artists and craftspeople." Virtual resources available.

Learn about Native American Heritage Month, access links to content about Lewis and Clark's interaction with Native Americans on their cross-country expedition, discover fun events, and learn useful information about different Native and First Nations people.

Fact, statistics, and infographics concerning the state of mental health in native American and Indigenous communities.

Established in 1948, the Museum of the Cherokee People is one of the longest-operating tribal museums in the country. The Museum shares the history, culture, and stories of the Cherokee people through its exhibitions, collections, and programs.

Early Indian tribes, culture areas, and linguistic stocks. In lower left margin: National atlas of the United States of America, Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, Reston, VA 22092. Text and map "Indian tribes, cultures & languages" Alaska on verso. Available also through the Library of Congress Web site as a raster image.

"NCAI was established in 1944 in response to the termination and assimilation policies the US government forced upon tribal governments in contradiction of their treaty rights and status as sovereign nations. To this day, protecting these inherent and legal rights remains the primary focus of NCAI."

Access online resources, activities, and exhibits at the National Museum of the American Indian as well as plan a safe trip to the museum itself.

The US Bureau of Indian Affairs' website devoted to Native American Heritage Month celebrations and ceremonies in 2019.

"The Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA) is an interdisciplinary, international membership-based organization, comprised of scholars working in the fields of Native American and Indigenous Studies, broadly defined. NAISA began through exploratory meetings hosted by the University of Oklahoma in 2007 and by the University of Georgia in 2008, incorporated in 2009, and has since become the premiere international and interdisciplinary professional organization for scholars, graduate students, independent researchers, and community members interested in all aspects of Indigenous Studies."

November is National American Indian Heritage Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.

View resources, events, and activities happening with the National Park Service in November to celebrate Native American Heritage Month.

"Through dance, family traditions, and music, these stories show the diversity and long history of Indigenous people across the United States. Celebrate the history, culture, and traditions of American Indians and Alaska Natives in a special collection of films, short stories, and resources from Public Television."

A list of some of the national organizations offering services and resources to communities throughout the United States.

Native Land is an interactive map depicting indigenous territories all over the world. This project is always being added to, updated, and improved. Its intention is to help educate people on which territories certain indigenous peoples call home. Since land is considered a sacred part of many indigenous cultures, land acknowledgement and education is critical.

Native American and Indigenous women experience extremely high rates of violence each year. The REDress Project, created by Métis artist Jamie Black, brings awareness to this issue by displaying red dresses in public spaces, letting the absence of the women inside of them be felt.