JKM Library: LGBTQ+ History and Pride: Online Resources

	: Spring 2024 Library Hours

"Nancy is a critically-acclaimed podcast featuring queer stories and conversations, and hosted by two best friends, neither of whom are named Nancy. It’s a podcast about how we define ourselves, and the journey it takes to get there."

"A Decolonized Podcast for lovers on the margins, join your resident sexuality educator Ericka Hart and Deep East Oakland's very own Ebony Donnley, as we game give, dismantle white supremacy and kiki in the cosmos somewhere between radical hood epistemological black queer love ethics, pop culture, house plants and a sea of books."

"Jaison Gardner and Dr. Kaila Story talk race, gender, and LGBTQ issues, from politics to pop culture. A new episode every week, from Louisville Public Media."

LGBTQ+ Pride and History Online Resources

Stonewall National Museum & Archives
The Stonewall National Museum and Archives (SNMA) is one of the largest gay archives and libraries in the United States, now almost 50 years old. No direct link to the Stonewall Riots in New York in 1969.
Stonewall Forever
Stonewall Forever is a living monument to 50 years of Pride. Anyone, anywhere can explore the monument online or in AR and add their own piece to this ever-growing monument. Stonewall Forever was created through a partnership between NYC's LGBT Community Center and the National Park Service, with the support of Google to expand access to LGBTQ history in commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month -- Library of Congress
Access digital materials housed in the Library of Congress documenting history and commemorating LGBTQ Pride.
GLBT Historical Society Museum & Archives
Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history. Our operations are centered around two sites: our GLBT Historical Society Museum, located since 2011 in the heart of San Francisco’s Castro neighborhood; and our Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives and Research Center, open to researchers in the Mid-Market district.
LGBT History Month
"LGBT History Month" celebrates the achievements of 31 lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender Icons. Each day in October, a new LGBT Icon is featured with a video, bio, bibliography, downloadable images and other resources.

Archival and Primary Source Collections

LGBTQ History Primary Sources
LGBTQ history and primary source resource guide created by Chatham Archivist Molly TIghe.
Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives & Special Collections
The Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives & Special Collections of the GLBT Historical Society are among the largest and most extensive holdings in the world of materials pertaining to LGBTQ people, occupying more than 3,500 linear feet of storage. Broadly speaking, our over 900 collections include personal papers, organizational records, periodicals, oral histories, photographs, audiovisual recordings, ephemera, artifacts and works of art.
ONE Archives at the USC Libraries
The collections at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries are primarily national in scope, with special focus on LGBTQ histories in the Los Angeles region. The archives also include a number of international materials, such as books, periodicals, and posters.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. While their physical location is in Brooklyn, many of their materials can be accessed online via their website.
Transgender Archives -- University of Victoria
The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse people.
The ArQuives: Canada's LGBTQ+ Archives
Since 1973, The ArQuives (formerly the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives) has been acquiring and preserving material documenting LGBTQ+ history. The ArQuives’s mandate is to acquire, preserve, organize, and provide public access to information and materials in any medium, by and about LGBTQ+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada.