JKM Library: LGBTQ+ History and Pride: Library eResources

	: Spring 2024 Library Hours

"Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) Pride Month is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in Manhattan. The Stonewall Uprising was a tipping point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. In the United States the last Sunday in June was initially celebrated as "Gay Pride Day," but the actual day was flexible. In major cities across the nation the "day" soon grew to encompass a month-long series of events. Today, celebrations include pride parades, picnics, parties, workshops, symposia and concerts, and LGBTQ Pride Month events attract millions of participants around the world. Memorials are held during this month for those members of the community who have been lost to hate crimes or HIV/AIDS. The purpose of the commemorative month is to recognize the impact that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals have had on history locally, nationally, and internationally." ~ Library of Congress

"LGBT History Month is an annual month-long observance of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender history, and the history of the gay rights and related civil rights movements. It was founded in 1994 by Missouri high-school history teacher Rodney Wilson. LGBT History Month provides role models, builds community, and represents a civil rights statement about the contributions of the LGBTQ+ community. As of 2020, LGBT History Month is a month-long celebration that is specific to Hungary, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Brazil, Greenland, and the city of Berlin. In the United States, Canada, and Australia, it is celebrated in October to coincide with National Coming Out Day on 11 October and to commemorate the first and second marches on Washington in 1979 and 1987 for LGBT rights. In Hungary and the United Kingdom, it is observed during February; in the UK this coincides with a major celebration of the 2003 abolition of Section 28. In Berlin, It is known as Queer History Month and is celebrated in June." ~ Wikipedia "LGBT History Month"

Videos

Any Day Now
(Feature film, 1 hour 39 minutes)
Winner of 10 Audience Awards at film festivals around the country and starring the amazing Alan Cumming, Any Day Now is a powerful tale of love, acceptance and family. When a teenager with Down syndrome (Isaac Leyva) is abandoned by his mother, a gay couple (Alan Cumming and Garret Dillahunt) takes him in and becomes the loving family he's never had. But when their unconventional living arrangement is discovered by authorities, the men are forced to fight a biased legal system to save the life of the child they have come to love as their own. Inspired by a true story from the late 1970s,
A Fantastic Woman
(Feature film, 1 hour 44 minutes)
Marina and Orlando are in love and planning for the future. After celebrating Marina's birthday one evening, Orlando falls seriously ill. Marina rushes him to the emergency room, but he passes away just after arriving at the hospital. Instead of being able to mourn her lover, suddenly Marina is treated with suspicion. The doctors and Orlando's family don't trust her. A woman detective investigates Marina to see if she was involved in his death. Orlando's ex-wife forbids her from attending the funeral. And to make matters worse, Orlando's son threatens to throw Marina out of the flat she shared with Orlando. Marina is a trans woman and for most of Orlando's family, her sexual identity is an aberration, a perversion. So Marina struggles for the right to be herself. She battles the very same forces that she has spent a lifetime fighting just to become the woman she is now - a complex, strong, forthright and fantastic woman.
The Freedom to Marry
(Documentary, 54 minutes)
The Freedom to Marry is the untold story of the most successful – and perhaps most inspiring – civil rights movement of our time. This is a riveting ride alongside Evan Wolfson, the man known as architect of the movement, and his team as they wage a decades-long battle all the way to the United States Supreme Court, providing fresh perspective on the movement’s history along the way. This is both a primer for social change and a behind-the-scenes look at how regular people can actually make a difference.
Indianara
(Documentary, 1 hour 24 minutes) Indianara, a bigger-than-life revolutionary character and her group who lead a fight for the survival of transgender people in Brazil. Shot during tumultuous times in Brazil while Michel Temer is president, while the Marielle Franco is killed in cold blood, Indianara is an incredible woman, a Gena Rowlands of sort who doesn’t take no for an answer. She cares about humanity and decency for all. In the shelter she founded, in the streets and during demonstrations, she fights for her ideals, including her relationship with Maurice, her husband. Nearing fifty, facing political attacks and the advance of totalitarianism, she commits a real act of resistance.
My Prairie Home
(Documentary, 1 hour 16 minutes)
Award-winning filmmaker Chelsea McMullan takes audiences on a poetic journey through landscapes both real and emotional in My Prairie Home, an intimate portrait of transgender singer Rae Spoon. Neither a concert film nor a conventional biographical doc, this documentary-musical occupies a beautiful space in between. My Prairie Home is as bracingly personal and reflective as the songs of this acclaimed musician, who was born in Alberta and raised in a troubled and deeply religious home. McMullan tells Spoon's story through interviews, spoken performance and music, set to a backdrop of stunning images of the Canadian Prairies. As the camera captures Alberta's haunting landscapes from the windows of Greyhound buses and through the curtains of tiny motel rooms, McMullan immerses viewers in the indie musician's experiences and struggles, while Spoon's songs are brought to life via shows at truck-stop diners and imaginative staged visual interpretations. My Prairie Home is an unforgettable look at a unique Canadian artist.
Saving Face
(Feature film, 1 hour 37 minutes)
For 28-year old New Yorker Wilhemina "Wil" Pang (Michelle Kruisec), life is a juggling act between a promising career a surgeon and her responsibilities as a dutiful daughter. Like the #7 train she takes to visit her Chinese family on a weekly basis, Wil is perpetually in transit between two worlds. The expectations of the Flushing, Queens society she is from and the desires that alienate her from it have made Wil content to live below the surface - even if it means playing an inadvertent game of charades with her widowed mother (Joan Chen) and the old world Ma represents. Saving Face is a romantic comedy about a daughter struggling to understand her mother's heart, which ultimately allows her to understand her own. It is the story of unspoken loves, contemporary and cultural taboos, and the journey of two women towards living their lives honestly.
Stonewall Riots, Greenwich Village, NY, June 28, 1969
A video collection from Academic Video Online including newsreels, interviews, docuseries, and more with activists and participants in the Stonewall Uprising and the early gay rights movement.

Digital Collections

"LGBT" in Credo Reference
Credo Reference encyclopedic entries concerning LGBTQ+ history, culture, activism, rights, and more. Includes broad, introductory information, images, links to other relevant resources, and keyword concept map tools.
"Homophobia" in Credo Reference
Credo Reference encyclopedic entries concerning the history and nature of homophobia. Includes broad, introductory information, images, links to other relevant resources, and keyword concept map tools.
Defining Gender
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
"LGBT" in Internet Archive
Access thousands of materials ranging from ebooks to audio clips, videos to pamphlets focused on LGBTQ history and culture via the Internet Archive.