Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Studies: External Databases

Sponsored by Yale's Genocide Studies program, this site provides a wealth of primary and secondary materials on various genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Amazon region, colonial genocides, Indonesia, Rwanda, the former Yugoslavia, and the Holocaust.

This site offers "linkable reviews of memorial sites, museums, digital archives and databases, monuments and sanctuaries dedicated to remembering, confronting, understanding, overcoming and preventing genocide."

"USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews."

"Fourteen oral histories with survivors of the genocides in Cambodia, Rwanda/Burundi, Bosnia, and Darfur. This work was contracted through a grant from the Texas Holocaust and Genocide Commission in order for survivors who now live in Texas to tell their stories of escaping the horrors of their homelands and finding a new life in the United States."

A "digital collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes."

"This collection contains 864 testimonies that were written in exercise books by students in Rwandan high schools between late 1999 and early 2000. Each testimony depicts the first-hand account of a child’s experiences from the beginning of the 1994 genocide in Rwanda until the child was rescued. All of the testimonies were collected from children who lived in the Gitarama Prefecture when the 1994 Rwanda genocide began following the downing of the plane carrying Rwandan President Habyarimana and President Cyprien Ntaryamira of Burundi on the evening of 6th April 1994."

Text-based testimonies and images of survivors from the genocide in Cambodia.

"Formally launched in January 2016, The Cambodia Oral History Project seeks to capture these stories by engaging local youth in the process. Youth and young adults in Cambodia interview family members to learn about their lives and stories. The project represents a broad partnership between Brigham Young University (faculty, staff, and students) and family history specialists, with the cooperation of local Cambodian leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints."

“German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery." This part of the website focuses on Nazi Germany.

""The Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more."

"Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is an important "source for Holocaust education, documentation and research." Its Digital Collections contain many databases of information pertaining to the Holocaust, including bibliographical information about victims, a photo archive, a film database, and an extensive online documents archive.

"British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds." This section provides 1000+ testimonies of Jewish survivors of the Holocaust.

Provides numerous digital resources "for the study, research, and affirmation of the Armenian genocide."

Offers many resources on the Armenian genocide, including testimonies and photos. The site is a bit disorganized but worth checking out. http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/index.php

"The CBS oral history project (formerly the Bosnia Memory Project) is a historical and cultural documentation effort directed at establishing an enduring record of the experiences of Bosnian genocide survivors and their families, including a younger generation born after the genocide. CBS faculty, students, and staff collaborate with members of St. Louis’s Bosnian community to record interviews of Bosnian survivors and their relatives, including a younger generation born outside of Bosnia. The CBS also collects books, letters, and photographs that reflect the culture and experiences of Bosnians in St. Louis and beyond."

"The ICTY Digital Archive Project provides access to a range of documents and other records associated with the work of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia."