Dance: Websites

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive is an ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today.

Critical Correspondence is a web-based publication of Movement Research that provides a forum for diverse engagements with artistic practice, research, and the contexts that surround the field of dance.

The BAM Hamm Archives tell the story of the 150+ year history of BAM, and of the communities—civic and artistic—that built the institution. The Archives and its staff provide a rich and unique resource for researchers interested in BAM artists and productions, the history of performing arts in the US, and Brooklyn's social history.

This collection consists of moving image materials that document the extraordinary journey of a woman who changed the face of American modern dance. The Collection highlights Dunham’s early explorations as an anthropologist in the 1930s as she observed a multitude of movement types and dance forms. However, it is Dunham's focus on the movements and dances of the African diaspora that so influenced her development as a performer, choreographer, and teacher. The collection contains examples of field research from Haiti, Trinidad, Martinique, and Jamaica, filmed by Miss Dunham and others. Also contained in the Collection are films documenting Miss Dunham's remarkable career as a performer and choreographer for her company, which introduced African and Caribbean dance movement to the American public, and videotapes of her workshops that demonstrate her remarkable teaching abilities.

DHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.

What’s the difference between troika and hula? How can dance tell stories and preserve histories? Discover dance and its impact on culture by exploring Ancient Egyptian rituals and Native American legends. Learn how dance tells stories and poems through a language of movement and music, and pick up a few moves yourself.

A collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and items from other conceptual categories. Many of the manuals also provide historical information on theatrical dance. All illuminate the manner in which people have joyfully expressed themselves as they dance for and with one another. Library of Congress staff selected this set of materials relating to ballroom (also called social) dance from various divisions and collections in the Library. Selections came from the General Collections, the Music Division, and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division. Hence, this web presentation is the only existing version of this special subject collection.

A blog for contemporary dance students that includes updates, posts, and shared content from dancers around the world.