Botany: Botany Websites

Books and articles dealing with agricultural literature. Search it to find useful resources, then check to see if the JKM Library provides access to them.

A database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms."

An outstanding resource for online natural history materials. Most of the content is out of copyright, but some newer materials are included as well.

The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium is the gateway to the digitized specimens of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium. Currently, 2.5 million specimen records and 1.5 million images are available. Every month, about 20,000 new records and images are added.

Includes full-text of Darwin's publications and others related to evolution dating from the 17th century to the present.

Detailed descriptions of plants in a database searchable by taxa.

A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.

Databases include International Plant Names Index, Index of Botanists, Index of Botanical Publications, Index of Botanical Specimens.

HerbMed is an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an impartial, evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc. This public site provides access to 20 of the most popular herbs.

Website of the Hunt Institute at Carnegie Mellon

An encyclopaedic resource to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide. It comprises detailed datasheets, images, and maps, a bibliographic database and full text articles

Search the three major Kew databases for taxonomic literature, economic botany, and plant micromorphology.

The most comprehensive database of native plants for North America - from the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center.

Search for information on marine animals and plants by location or by name.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Provides information about the biodiversity, characteristics, and evolutionary history of thousands of species.

Tropicos® was originally created for internal research but has since been made available to the world’s scientific community. All of the nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in MBG’s electronic databases during the past 25 years are publicly available here. This system has over 1.2 million scientific names and 4.0 million specimen records.

Smithsonian's digitized collection of over 4.2 million specimen records.

Contains information on non-native invasive plant species, including a national list of species, fact sheets, background information, management options, and more.

Provides information about paleobotany.

Search national and international scientific databases and portals for articles and multimedia.

Provides links to websites covering a wide variety of topics in the biosciences, including animal health, botany, biotechnology, microbiology, and more.

The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.

An open-access, peer-reviewed journal reporting major biological advances achieved through computation. Unique in its scope, the journal publishes research from one of the most rapidly growing and exciting areas of scientific inquiry.

A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that reflects the full breadth and interdisciplinary nature of genetics and genomics research by publishing outstanding original contributions in all areas of biology.

From molecules to physiology, PLoS Pathogens publishes important new ideas on bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions and viruses that contribute to our understanding of the biology of pathogens and pathogen-host interactions.