JKM Library: PSY313: History of Psychology: Primary Sources

	: Spring 2024 Library Hours

Primary Sources in JKM Databases

Adam Matthew Primary Source Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources, World History 1400-Present
Search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th -21st centuries.
IMPORTANT NOTES for Adam Matthew:
- Search for your person's full name with quotation marks around it. e.g., "Auguste Comte"
- Make sure you return to AM Explorer each time you search - otherwise it will just search within the collection you are currently in"
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources, American History 1700-1800
Full-text books, newspapers, and magazines 1700s to 1800s.
History Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
U.S. History, World History, Primary Sources
Provides primary source documents, peer reviewed journals, reference books, images of maps, historical photos, and video

Searching for Primary Resources

When searching the library catalog, databases, journals, or the archives and special collections materials, try using these keywords in your search to locate primary sources. Use the Advanced Search to combine subject headings associated with primary sources and keywords on your topic, such as:

Sources
Diaries
Pamphlets
Correspondence
Interviews
Personal narratives
Early works
Archives
Description and travel
Facsimilies
Pictorial works
Manuscript
Photographs
Oral-history
Census

Newspaper Resources

Google News Archive
Search for your important person. Then under "Any Time" choose "Custom Range." In the popup, put the person's year of death in the "To" field. That ensures you are finding articles only from within that person's lifetime.

Free Primary Sources

Making of America
This site contains 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles related to the social history of the United States from the antebellum era through reconstruction.
Digital Public Library of America
An extensive collection of primary sources found within American history, including images and written works.
Internet Archive
A free and open access collection maintained by a nonprofit organization.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Contains written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music covering architecture, landscape, advertising, performing arts, and more.
EuroDocs-BYU
A collection of assembled primary documents related to European history, arranged by time period and nation. All of the links are widely accessible and free web-sites.
Historic Pittsburgh
A collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of Western Pennsylvania
History Matters
Provides links to history websites and useful resources for teaching US history.
NYPL Digital Images
Thousands of downloadable public domain image covering many topics.
Vatican Digital Library
Access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).