How to use this guide... This research guide contains the resources you can use to be successful with your research project. You will see guides like this often in college, so this can serve as a way to become familiar with them! In this guide you will find:
Links to useful library databases
Links to useful third party resources, like websites and reports published by non-Chatham groups
How-To and FAQ guides on research if you get stuck!
If you need help with these resources, whether it's a tech issue or you have a question about how to use them, here's who to contact:
Below you will find links to databases and digital tools that will help you as you complete your research. There are a few different kinds of tools, including:
Encyclopedias: These 'tertiary sources' compile brief summaries and definitions of people, places, things, and concepts. You use encyclopedias when you want to get a quick overview of something. They help you to build context around your research idea and discover new keywords, which are important parts of research.
Discovery (EBSCO) Search: This search tool is the JKM Library's version of Google. It will let you search almost all of our databases (both subject-specific and general) at once. You would use something like the Discovery search if your research question is multidisciplinary (i.e. includes a lot of topics or areas of focus).
Subject-Specific Databases: Databases that contain resources focused on a specific topic (like environmental studies or sustainability). You use subject-specific databases when you are doing research on a narrow topic. You will decide which databases to use based on the kind of information you want to find. This decision is part of your research strategy and will change from project to project.
Timely, in-depth articles covering complex, hot-button issues in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Each article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias.
This database contains only videos and focuses on a wide range of topics, including anthropology, business, counseling, environmentalism, film, health, history, music, and more. Materials include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations and raw footage.
Focuses on health sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and sustainability. Includes academic journal articles and book chapters dating from 1823 to present. Also includes audio and video files. ** Off Campus Access - Choose "Access Through Your Institution" **
Primary Source Resources
Most of the resources found through these links are freely available. You won't need Chatham login credential to access them.