Women's History Month

In celebration of Women’s History Month, the University Archives presents selections from our collection that highlight Chatham’s unwavering commitment to encouraging civic engagement in all levels of the political system. This exhibition, Celebrating Women’s History: Chatham Women in Politics, demonstrates student civic engagement tracing back to the earliest days of the Suffragette movement, when students paraded through downtown Pittsburgh in support of women’s right to vote.

Founded with a guiding principal of ensuring that women have access to an education equal to that available for men, Chatham University has fostered civic engagement among students, staff, and faculty for generations. For many members of the Chatham community, that engagement took the form of activism with the women’s suffrage movement, an effort to ensure women’s access to the polls as well as equity in employment, marriage, and property. With this digital exhibit, the Chatham University Archives honors the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th amendment and highlights contributions made to the women's suffrage movement by members of the Chatham community. Explore how alumnae of the Pennsylvania Female College and the Pennsylvania College for women (now Chatham University) fought to achieve suffrage for women through activities across the region, the country, and on the steps of the Pittsburgh City-County Building.

From the website: "The National Archives celebrates Women’s History Month, recognizing the great contributions that women have made to our nation. Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources."

A search result list for "transgender women" in the Digital Transgender Archive. The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.

The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition, and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, ALIC presents a listing of websites relevant to women in the United States. This list includes bibliographies, resources specifically about African-American women, biographies on notable women, resources on politics and women, Women's Suffrage, women in the military, and more.

The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history. The center, housed at the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University, makes these materials available to a large number of researchers from around the world.

The mission of the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History is to collect, preserve, and make accessible records documenting the history of women and other gender minorities. It is a rich source for those interested in women’s movements for social change, particularly suffrage, reproductive rights and reproductive justice, and the women’s liberation movement.

From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. A guide on how to research women's history in archival sources, and a list of various women's history archives both nationally and internationally.

Primary sources from the Library of Congress.

From Harvard University. An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.

A collection of content and coverage from the Smithsonian concerning a diversity of stories about women throughout American history.

From the New York Public Library, African American Women Writers of the 19th Century guide includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century Black women writers, biographies for each author, citations, and much more.

The Smithsonian wants the role of women in American history to be well-known, accurate, acknowledged, and empowering. With a digital-first mission and focus, the initiative uses technology to amplify a diversity of women’s voices—not in one gallery or museum, but throughout the Smithsonian’s many museums, research centers, cultural heritage affiliates, and wherever people are online—reaching millions of people in Washington, D.C., across the nation, and around the world. Explore stories and objects from women who have shaped America as we know it through their work, creativity, and resolve.

Scroll down this page for informational videos, biographies, podcasts, educational resources, and more from the National Constitution Center.

Explore virtual exhibits and access educational materials concerning the American Women's history.

The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion.

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history.

From the University of Pennsylvania, a database of women writers around the world.

Created in 2014 as part of a commemoration of the hundredth anniversary of women’s suffrage in Montana, Women’s History Matters is designed to help the Montana Historical Society promote an increased appreciation and understanding of the role of women in the state’s past. This site includes blog posts, stories and histories, biographies, news articles, resources for educators, and more pertaining to women's history in Montana.

Contains written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music covering architecture, landscape, advertising, performing arts, and more.

Check out this resource list from the Library of Congress showing sources on the history of science

Click the link for Curtiss-Wright Engineering Cadettes digital collection to view images, videos, and other ephemeral material related to women in science.

Explore biographies of female physicians or dig deep into resources for higher education to find sources on how views of have changed on women physicians.

Descriptions of important contributions to science made by 83 women in the 20th century. These are documented by the original papers in which the discoveries were first reported.

Created in 1994 and inspired by the legacy of Admiral Grace Murray Hopper, the AnitaB.org flagship event Grace Hopper Celebration brings the research and career interests of women in computing to the forefront.