From their website: "1Hood Media is a collective of socially conscious artists & activists who utilize art to raise awareness. The mission of 1Hood Media is to build liberated communities through art, education and social justice."
Environmental activism. "We envision a future where policies and actions at the local, state, federal and international levels will have ensured a stable climate that provides an opportunity for all people to achieve health, prosperity and fulfillment."
"Founded in 1920, the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is the nation's foremost guardian of liberty. We are a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to defending and protecting our individual rights and personal freedoms."
From their website: "The Mission of B.Y.E is to educate minority youth on topics that affect their everyday lives, to give them better/more accessible opportunities, more productive things to attend in Pittsburgh, and support for anything they will need. End Goal: Our end goal is to lessen the amount of ignorance with issues such as systemic racism and colorism. We want to unite Pittsburgh Black community and create a support system among the youth that uplifts each other."
From the website: "Book‘Em is a non-profit organization based in Pittsburgh that sends reading and educational materials to prisoners across Pennsylvania. Our mission is to improve the quality of life for people incarcerated in Pennsylvania by providing free access to educational materials, books and resources."
From their website: "The Bukit Bail Fund of Pittsburgh is a coalation of individuals and organizations striving to provide support for those incarcerated at Allegheny County Jail, located in Pittsburgh, PA. We hope to not just provide bail, but also to increase our capacity for supporting people after they have been released. We are working to get people released from jail as quickly as possible. We call for an end to cash bail in Pittsburgh and everywhere. We believe no one should be in a cage."
The NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) is the largest and most pre-eminent civil rights organization in the nation. Their mission is to secure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights in order to eliminate race-based discrimination and ensure the health and well-being of all persons.
From their website: "Fighting for our homes, our jobs, and our water. Fighting for a Livable PGH for all. Pittsburgh United is a coalition of community, labor, faith, and environmental organizations committed to advancing the vision of a community and economy that work for all people."
From their website: "Our overall purpose is to equip communities with the necessary knowledge to leverage local grassroots community organizing, to gain power & influence over decisions that directly affect the community, thus creating sustainable change and increasing the conscious level of residents. Mission: Combat all forms of community violence through activism and organizing."
From the website: "The Thomas Merton Center works to build a consciousness of values and to raise the moral questions involved in the issues of war, poverty, racism, classism, economic justice, human rights, and environmental justice. TMC engages people of diverse philosophies and faiths who find common ground in the nonviolent struggle to bring about a more peaceful and just world."
From their website: "As the largest comprehensive social service/civil rights organization in Southwestern Pennsylvania, the Pittsburgh Urban League helps others to help themselves through extra-curricular educational opportunities, health advocacy, housing counseling, parental education and support for early childhood and youth development, hunger prevention services, sustainable wage career preparation, and other programs that lead to improved ability to achieve economic empowerment and self-reliance."
"The Atlas of Surveillance is a searchable database and map that reveals which technologies, such as drones and automated license plate readers, are used by domestic law enforcement agencies across the United States. Through a combination of crowdsourcing and data journalism, we are creating the largest-ever repository of information on which law enforcement agencies are using what surveillance technologies." ~ EFF
In this time of revolutionary collective action, social and political uncertainty, and as we witness local and world injustices, the Blackivists offer five quick tips to keep in mind as we work together to protect our collective documentation that proves we are here, addressing and safeguarding our people and communities.
"Crocodile Hunter is a tool to detect and find so-called “Stingrays” or “IMSI Catchers,” devices that identify an individual mobile phone in a crowd by mimicking a cell phone tower. This link leads to the EFF source repository with instructions on hardware and software needed, as well as build instructions and how to use it." ~ EFF
Documenting the Now has incredible tools, resources, and advice for activist groups and archivists looking to document their work. Their website hosts recorded symposium sessions on topics such as "Digital Blackness in the Archive: Collecting for the Culture" and the ethics of web archiving. This website is a must-visit.
Conference session recordings exploring how "Web archives can serve as witness to crimes, corruption, and abuse; they are powerful advocacy tools; they support community memory around moments of political change, cultural expression, or tragedy. At the same time, they can cause harm and facilitate surveillance and oppression."
Signal highly prioritizes the privacy of its users by offering end-to-end encrypted messaging. It does not allow trackers access to your conversations, or push ads. No one has access to your conversations, not even Signal. This is a very easy and convenient messaging platform for anyone prioritizing privacy and safety.
"Surveillance Self-Defense (SSD) is EFF's online guide to defending yourself and your friends from surveillance by using secure technology and developing careful practices. In addition to tutorials for installing and using security-friendly software, SSD walks you through concepts like making a security plan, the importance of strong passwords, and protecting metadata." ~ EFF
A Library of Free Resources for Video Activists, Trainers and Their Allies. WITNESS provides video tutorials on a variety of topics (concealing identity, informed consent, transferring electronic files).
"The Center for Artistic Activism is transforming the practices of art and activism, helping activists, artists, organizations, and foundations be more effective and affective in bringing about social change."
Compiled by the American Historical Association as a response to the increase of racial violence in the US. This is a list of educational, academic, and news resources on the history of racist violence. Teachers can use them in classrooms to help students understand the history of the present; journalists can draw on them to provide historical context for current events; researchers can draw on them to inform future scholarship. Due to the nature of this history, many of the resources contain references to violence and assault.
Established in 1968 by Coretta Scott King, The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (“The King Center”) has been a global destination, resource center and community institution for over a quarter century. The King Center is a 501(c)3.
"Building upon the achievements of Stanford University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the King Institute supports a broad range of activities illuminating Dr. King's life and the movements he inspired."
"Explore the movement that changed the nation. Discover stories of Mississippians like Medgar Evers, Fannie Lou Hamer and Vernon Dahmer—as well as those who traveled many miles to stand beside them, come what may, in the name of equal rights for all"
"The National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, Tennessee, is steadfast in its mission to share the culture and lessons from the American Civil Rights Movement and explore how this significant era continues to shape equality and freedom globally."
Exhibition from the Library of Congress. "This exhibition transports visitors to the momentous day of the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, August 28, 1963—a day that transformed our nation—when 250,000 people from all walks of life participated in the largest non-violent demonstration for civil rights that Americans had ever witnessed."
"The King Papers Project became a cooperative venture of Stanford University, the King Center, and the King Estate. Its principal mission is to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. The seven already published volumes have become essential reference works for researchers and have influenced scholarship about King and the movements he inspired. Building upon this research foundation, the Project also engages in other related educational activities. Using internet communications technology to reach a diverse global audience, it has greatly increased popular as well as scholarly awareness of King's achievements and visionary ideas."
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. ONE Archives has been a part of the University of Southern California Libraries since 2010.
Exhibition hosted by the Library of Congress. "This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs collected by the “Voices of Civil Rights” project, a collaborative effort of AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR), and the Library of Congress, and marks the arrival of these materials in the Library's collection."