The Jewish Community Center of Greater Pittsburgh, a member of the Jewish Community Center Association of North America, is one of the largest social service, recreational and educational organizations in the region. For more than 120 years, the JCC has enriched our community by creating an environment rooted in Jewish values that strengthens the physical, intellectual and spiritual well-being of individuals and families.
The Holocaust Center of Pittsburgh connects the horrors of the Holocaust and antisemitism with injustices of today. Through education, the Holocaust Center seeks to address these injustices and empower individuals to build a more civil and humane society.
Jewish American Heritage Month (JAHM) was proclaimed in 2006 by President George H. Bush and is celebrated every year in May. It honors the rich and extensive history of Jewish people in America, their heritage, accomplishments, contributions, and more. Browse this virtual display to find ebooks, music, videos, and other digital resources by and/or about Jewish Americans to celebrate Jewish American Heritage Month.
Paying tribute to the generations of Jewish Americans who have helped form the fabric of American history, culture and society. Access exhibits and collections, audio and video, resources for teachers, images, events, and more.
The National Museum of American Jewish History, on Independence Mall in Philadelphia, presents educational programs and experiences that preserve, explore, and celebrate the history of Jews in America. Its purpose is to connect Jews more closely to their heritage and to inspire in people of all backgrounds a greater appreciation for the diversity of the American Jewish experience and the freedoms to which Americans aspire.
The American Jewish Historical Society is the oldest ethnic, cultural archive in the United States. AJHS provides access to more than 30 million documents and 50,000 books, photographs, art and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present.
The Center for Jewish History in New York City illuminates history, culture, and heritage. The Center provides a collaborative home for five partner organizations: American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
The Jewish Women’s Archive is a national organization dedicated to collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women. JWA explores the past as a framework for understanding the issues important to women today; inspires young people with remarkable role models; and uses Jewish women’s stories to excite people to see themselves as agents of change.
The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives (AJA), located on the historic Cincinnati campus of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, was established in 1947 by renowned historian, Dr. Jacob Rader Marcus to collect, preserve, and make available for research, materials on the history of Jews and Jewish communities in the Western Hemisphere, including data of a political, economic, social, cultural, and religious nature.
The Rauh Jewish History Program & Archives was founded in 1989 to collect, preserve, and make accessible the documentary history of Jews and Jewish communities of Western Pennsylvania. Includes multimedia content and a focus on the past and present.
JTS is a preeminent institution of Jewish higher education, training thoughtful, innovative leaders—rabbis, cantors, educators, lay leaders, and scholars—who strengthen our communities with a vision of Judaism that is deeply grounded in the Jewish past and thoroughly engaged with contemporary society. JTS also provides high-caliber lifelong learning and professional development to our alumni, adult learners, and Jewish communities throughout North America. Through its Library, JTS preserves and makes accessible to students and scholars throughout the world the greatest collection of Judaica in the Western Hemisphere.
Jewish families first arrived in Pittsburgh in the 1840’s, bringing with them the Jewish tradition of tzedakah—the act of giving to help others. For over 150 years, the Jews of Pittsburgh have worked to care for other Jews and to improve the world at large.
Generation to Generation tells the stories of families who have donated papers to the Rauh Jewish Archives. Jews began settling in this region in the 1840s. They made their homes here, established communities and helped build Western Pennsylvania. Their stories illuminate the history of our region.
This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.
A permanent digital archive of digitized, restored, transcribed, and translated interviews with Holocaust survivors conducted by Dr. David P. Boder in 1946, so that they can be experienced by a global audience of students, researchers, historians, and the general public. These recordings represent the earliest known oral histories of the Holocaust.
This website was created by Professor Deborah E. Lipstadt and colleagues and is a joint project of Emory University and Emory’s Tam Institute for Jewish Studies. Its mission is to ensure perpetual access to the evidence, transcripts, judgment, and appeal documents that made the case in the David Irving v. Penguin Books U.K. and Deborah Lipstadt trial and to refute the misleading claims of Holocaust deniers with historical evidence.