Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Home
Chatham's COVID-19 informational website
Archives COVID-19 Collection Project
  | | Click to open/download a PDF of Full Library Calendar in a new window2021-22 Calendar

 

LIBRARY TECHNICAL SERVICES

Cataloging

Downloads

Acquisitions

Term

Traditional Use

Current / Chatham Use

Future Use?

AACR2 (Anglo American Cataloging Rules)

Uniform data standards for terms, punctuation and style in bibliographic description for union and online catalogs

Being phased-out for RDA, record by record;  looking into batch and authority globals (see doc #RDA17e)

Being replaced by RDA

Access

To be able to check-out and/or use a library item…

… and/or Click into an online component consisting of a full-text surrogate …

… A birthright?

Access Services (Access Srv, AS)

General circulation functions, reserves, shelving of materials, and stack maintenance…

… + Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan)

Automatic check-out, Online Reserves

Acquisitions (Acq)

Ordering and pre-processing new physical materials

Ordering, registering, and pre-processing new physical and non-aggregated digital  materials

Stronger delineations between package and individual plans

Archival

Materials designed to last longer than commercial issued materials

Archives

Autonomous Department of the Library that manages historical institution-related materials …

… Becoming more pro-active in preserving and providing access to digital records…

… Trendy area of study in library school (due to concrete concepts and splash funds)

Authorities

Invisible (to the public) records in the catalog that contain authoritative information about a name, subject or title, that serve as a public catalog cross-referencing mechanism

Baker & Taylor YBP (Gobi)

Main print book vendor and interface where ordering and invoicing may be performed

Main print book and Secondary eBook vendor and interface where ordering,  invoicing and licensing may be performed

Book, eBook, and video vendor and interface where ordering,  invoicing, licensing and streaming may be performed

Barcode

Unique numeric code that is physically applied to each item after It is cataloged

13-digit unique numeric code that is physically applied to each item as It is cataloged

RFID? (Radio Frequency Identification Technology)

Bibframe

n/a

Future of MARC

Amazonframe? BibGoogle?  AmaGoogleBableBib?

Bibliographic “Bib” Record

The earliest known bibliographic records come from the catalogues (written in cuneiform script on clay tablets) of religious texts from 2000 B.C., which were identified by what appear to be key words in Sumerian.

MARC Record with fixed and variable fields (control and standard numbers, authors, title, description, publisher, note, subject and URLs) that works in tandem with the Item and Check-in records

Bibframe Record with fixed and variable fields (control and standard numbers, authors, title, description, publisher, note, subject and URLs) that works in tandem with the Item and Check-in records

Brown Collection

Large donation of popular fiction housed in its own room. Non-circulating

Cataloged

Additions? Circulating?

Call number

The number assigned to each item that is physically shelved, with the first part of the number relating to the subject, and the second part relating to the main entry/cutter, and may have a 3rd part denoting volume or numeration

Card Catalog

File cabinets with triplicate cards (at least 1 each for title(s), author(s), subject(s)) for physically identifying and describing each title

See Bibliographic record

Cataloging

The act of analyzing, deciphering, describing and updating data for a work created by an individual, a group, or a corporate entity so that others may easily find and use it

 

Check-in Record (Serials)

See Kardex

In staff view, where issue frequency controls and determiners operate. In public view, shows current and anticipated future receipts.

Develop an API that can scan a new issue's colophon and generate an updated live feed into any desired location

Circulation

Authorized Books, Media, Equipment and Reserves are checked-out and checked back in.

Claims

If an issue wasn’t delivered, write a letter or call them on the phone

If an issue wasn’t delivered, click on Claim Checker or go to vendor website and submit claim electronically

If an issue wasn’t delivered,  call them on the phone

Collection Development

The process of planning and building a coherent and useful collection of library materials over a period of years, based on an assessment of the information needs of the library's regular clientele, including selection, de-selection (weeding), and planning for resource sharing.

Copy-cataloging

Flat Derive

Export and check for errors

Industry driven – can only hope for quality-driven collaborations …

Create Lists

Either contract a programmer or run an overnight report

Combining simple and complex Boolean search strings for desired results of bibliographic, item, check-in or patron records which can have data globally altered or exported for analysis.

CSS/Stylesheets

Code in a referenced webpage that automatically fills in styles and data for numerous pre-assigned or form-generated web pages

Curriculum Collection

Circulating Children’s Education-related & Children’s Books (3rd floor)

Cutter Number

In call# construction, it is the second part of the number that identifies the Main Entry, where the part of a name (or word) that comes after the first letter is transformed into a number

Data

Descriptive text

Computer friendly text, codes and numbers

Quantum? Bio-birthright?

Database      
Datawolf A stand-alone database that is independent from other aggregated databases

Discovery layer

 

Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) – a simple search-n-display interface that integrates results from numerous pre-assigned sources with links to the full-text

Open Web Integration (OWI)

E-Books      
E-Wooks (aka "Wookies") An eBook that is independent of an aggregated database

Ebsco

A company that provides print journals

A company that provides print and online books, journals and databases

A company that provides print and online books, journals, databases and videos

EbscoBooks

Secondary book vendor

Ebsconet

Main print journal vendor interface, where ordering, invoicing and claiming can be performed

Ejays Electronic Journals that are independent of an aggregated database
EJS Ebsco Journal Service    

Extrapolation

The process of estimating, beyond the original observation range, the value of a variable on the basis of its relationship with another variable

Used in Serials Module Frequency Tables

Develop an API that can scan a new issue's colophon and generate an updated live feed into any desired location

EZProxy

OCLC, Shibboleth, Athens…

OCLC EZProxy

WAMProxy? LDAP?

Frequencies tables

See Kardex

Table in the Serials Card that can be altered to project upcoming issues

Develop an API that can scan a new issue's colophon and generate an updated live feed into any desired location

FTP (File Transport Protocol)

Used to upload large data and edited websites, images and scripts

Gaps (missing journal issues)

Contact other libraries

n/a

Contact other libraries; get on a list…

 

 

Global Updates

Either contract a programmer and/or pay vendor extra to globally update data.

Using a review file (from Create Lists) or an index search,  multiple bib, item, check-in or patron records can have like-data instances update instantaneously

Should be a standard feature of any ILS

Google Analytics

A free service used to track use and traffic patterns in websites

A more user-friendly product?

Google Docs

A free service to upload, store, and share documents, such as student publications (not requiring a password)

DSpace?

ContentDM?

HTML

Hyper-Text Markup Language used to create websites …

+ CSS, Stylesheets, XML, and automated form builders …

HTML5, XTML,  … the core will be rebranded over and over but basic foundation language will remain unchanged

ILS (integrated Library System)

System of intertwined databases comprising of  circulation, cataloging, administration, ILL, serials, acquisitions, telnet and web

Millennium (currently use  circulation, cataloging, administration, serials, telnet and web)

Sierra? Koha? Evergreen? AmaGoogleBableSys? (AGBS)

Information

“Stimuli that has meaning in some context for its receiver”

  (Margaret Rouse, http://searchsqlserver.techtarget.com, 2015)

Information Technology (ITS)

IT

Information Technology Services

 

Internal Item Message

 

The “m” field, where free text may be entered by staff so that the message will flash on the screen as something is being checked-in or out

Should be a standard feature of any ILS

Internal Item Note

 

The “x” field, where any word-searchable free text may be entered by staff

Should be a standard feature of any ILS

Inventory

Item by item physical count confirming the accuracy of catalog entry, barcode, call#, vol.# and copy#

Invoice

A commercial document issued by a seller to a buyer, relating to a sale transaction and indicating the products, quantities, and agreed prices for products or services the seller had provided the buyer

Item Record

A record with invisible (to the public) transaction data, attached to a main bibliographic record. The current status of an item (available, check-out, missing etc…) is visible to the public in the OPAC record

Kardex (obsolete)

File trays with cards for each title for physically recording new arrivals of serials issues

See Check-in record

The Library

Print

Print and Online

Print, Online, Hardware and Manuals?

LMS / CMS

 

Learning/Course Management System. Chatham currently uses Moodle – can be used to upload files to the library (Student Publications)

WCM, SaaS ?

LMS / ILS

Library Management System / see ILS

Main Entry

Defaults to the Author, but if no one author is headlined, then the Title is used. It is the first line that appears on a bib display, and is the basis for the Call number’s Cutter number

 

MARC

MAchine-Readable Cataloging standards are a set of digital formats for the bibliographic description of items catalogued by libraries, represented by 3 digit numbers with 2 digit sublimiters (currently using MARC 21)

To Be Replaced/rebranded by/as BIBFRAME

Media Shelves

Once a whole room was dedicated, then replaced by Media Cabinets

Media Shelves are comprised of one stack, with DVDs on one side, and CDs on the other (on the 1st floor)

Even more picked-down?

Mediafire

 

Off-institution cloud service to store password protected documents for web-friendly access, such as student publications

DSpace?

ContentDM?

Metadata

Descriptive cataloging

“data about other data”

Next catchphrase

Microfiche

A card made of transparent film used to store printed information in miniaturized form

Still receive weekly Congressional Reports

?

Microfilm

A roll of transparent film used to store printed information in miniaturized form

Stored with Microfiche – Rarely used but some issues are not digitized …

… (yet)

Millennium (III)

Used to be InnoPac, Dynix…

… VTLS. It is our current ILS.

Sierra? Evergreen?

OCLC

“Non-profit” company that stores, manages and sells bibliographic and other library research data

Olkes Collection

Collection of art-related books on 3rd floor (right off elevator) , shelved separately as per agreement with donor

OPAC

Online Public Access Catalog

Webpac

?

OPAC Tech display

Where you can see the bibliographic record displayed in MARC on the public interface (OPAC)

Order Direct

Unlike using a vendor, a single item is purchased directly with immediate payment (i.e. Amazon, PBS, …)

Physical Processing

With books, journals and media, it is the process of 1) checking contents, pages, quality of playback…, 2) adhering security device (tattle-tape) if required, 3) stamping with proper location identification, 4) attaching barcodes, 5) due-date slips, and 6) archival covers

Preservation

Keep something alive, in-tact, and useable, through protective and restorative measures …

… and duplicate surrogates for mass consumption …

… and legal debates

Proforma Invoice

A document that is provided before or with a shipment of goods and that describes the items shipped or the terms of the sale

Ready Reference

At-risk books kept behind the reference desk for in-Library use only

Restoration

Repairing a book or media as close as possible to its original state

RDA (Resource Description and Access)

Uniform data standards for terms, punctuation and style in bibliographic description for global and online communities

Being phased-in to replace AACR2; record by record – looking into batch and authority globals

The standard until …

Reference Desk

Centralized desk with a reference librarian to assist users with library and research-related questions

Reference Librarian

 

Reference Shelves

Books kept in exclusive location for in-Library use only (1st floor)

Repair

Fixing a damaged book or media so that it can be used again for regular use

Reserve Reference

High-risk books kept behind the circulation desk for in-Library use only

Reserves

Print

Print and Online

Online and Print

Resource Sharing

ILL

ILLiad, E-ZBorrow

Open Web Integration (OWI)

RFID (Radio Frequency Identification Technology)

 

Sticker that works as barcode, tattle-tape, and GPS

Serials

Magazines, Journals, Newspapers and any other print publication that comes out in a regular sequence

Magazines, Journals, Newspapers and any other  print (may have an online component) publication that comes out in a regular sequence

Magazines, Journals, Newspapers and any other  online (may have a print component) publication that comes out in a regular sequence

Serials Module

The Library Staff online view of the Catalog with automatic frequency determiners for serials

 

 

Serials Card

See Kardex

Check-in Record consisting of Frequency Table, Check-in box, public note and Claims checker

 

Server Local

Ethernet - ITS

?

Server Remote

Internet - ITS

Internet – ITS, Library augments

Cloud?

Server [cloud]

 

Mediafire

GoogleDocs

ILS Vendor?

DSpace?

AmaGoogleBableSpace? (AGBS)

Shelf Reading

The act of examining the arrangement of books and other materials in the stacks of a library to make sure that all items are in correct call number sequence.

Shelving (Re-shelving)

The act of returning books and other materials to the stacks of a library in correct call number sequence.

Special Collections

Under the auspice of the Archives, a collection of books and other materials that are deemed valuable to the history, core and mission of the institution

Stack Maintenance

The acts of shelving, re-shelving, shelf reading, shifting and inventory

Access Src: shelving, re-shelving, shelf reading

Tech Srv: Inventory

Shifting needs to be delegated

Standing Order

An instruction to a vendor by the library to deliver an updated series title at regular intervals

Student Publications

Graduate Theses and Dissertations

Undergraduate Tutorials,  Graduate Theses, Graduate Capstones and Dissertations

?

System

Set of interacting or interdependent components forming an integrated whole

Systems

The OPAC, Circulation, Acquisitions, Cataloging, Serials, and other ILS modules along with resource sharing, electronic databases and websites

Tech Srv:  The OPAC, Acquisitions, Cataloging, Serials, and other ILS modules and Websites

Even more splintered?

Access Srv:  Circulation, resource sharing

Web Librarian:  electronic databases

Tape drive back-ups

4mm DAT tapes inserted and administered by ITS

4mm DAT tapes inserted  by ITS and administered by Tech Services

Server Cloud back-ups administered by Tech Services

Tattle Tape

Magnetic and adhesive band of thin metal placed in book spine and VHS that sets off an alarm if not deactivated

Magnetic and adhesive band of thin metal placed  between pages and on discs that sets off an alarm if not deactivated

RFID?

Technical

Anything that requires attention beyond general resources

Anything that requires attention beyond readily available resources

Anything that requires attention beyond integrated resources

Technical Services (Tech Services, Tech Srv, TS)

General acquisition, organization, and preservation functions for all physical materials in the library. May Include Resource Sharing, Shelving, and Stack maintenance

General acquisition, organization, and preservation functions for all physical-related  materials in the library, including Systems, Server and Website management

Some libraries will rebrand as “Collection Management and Metadata Services,” “Electronic Resources …,” etc., but essentially perform same functions and more

Technology

Physical devices to help move society forward

Physical and virtual devices to help move the company forward

Physical, virtual, and imagined devices to help you move forward

Telnet/Unix

A command-line interface protocol for communicating with another computer

Used for high-level administration and server maintenance

Here to stay

Webpac

Millennium’s OPAC brand

Whatever ILS we have at that time

Weeding (De-selection)

The process of discarding books and other materials from a library collection which are outdated or no longer useful.

Wookie (aka E-Wook) An eBook that is independent of an aggregated database

Wray Collection

Large collection of books that are mostly circulating. Some are in Special Collections

XML (Extensible Markup Language)

A markup language that defines a set of rules for encoding documents in a format which is both human-readable and machine-readable.

Used in transferring delicate information between computers (i.e FTP login & Patron information)

JSON  (JavaScript Object Notation)

 

  • Acquisitions
    • Purchasing requests & Collection Development
    • Processing Gifts
    • Serials & Student Works
  • Organization
    • Accurate label information (exterior data) on all public-access physical items
    • Accurate computer-readable text (interior data)  on all search and display result records
    • Accurate scripts and processing codes in all relational environments
  • Preservation
    • Shelf life
    • turnover
    • Repairs
  • Access
    • compatibility
    • security
    • quality

js/css for TS

<style>
#s-lib-ctabs-19371062 {border:none;}
#s-lg-guide-search-box{display:none;}
#s-lg-guide-header-attributes{display:none;}
#s-lib-footer-login-link{display:none;}
#s-lg-guide-tabs-title-bar{display:none;}
#s-lib-footer-public{display:none;}

#s-lib-ctab-19371062-1{background-color:#51a7f9;}
#ui-id-2{color:#FFFFFF;background-color:#51a7f9;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-2{background-color:#094E90;}
#ui-id-3{color:#FFFFFF;background-color:#094E90;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-3{background-color:#377F19;}
#ui-id-4{color:#FFFFFF;background-color:#377F19;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-8{background-color:#bad;}
#ui-id-9{background-color:#bad;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-4{background-color:#D5A915;}
#ui-id-5{color:#ffffff;background-color:#D5A915;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-5{background-color:maroon;}
#ui-id-6{color:#FFFFFF;background-color:maroon;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-6{background-color:#000000;}
#ui-id-7{color:#FFFFFF;background-color:#000000;}
#s-lib-ctab-19371062-7{background-color:indigo;}
#ui-id-8{color:#FFFFFF;background-color:indigo;}


body{background-image:url("https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/7528/images/blamo.jpg");
}#s-lg-box-wrapper-22726092{opacity:0.45;
filter:alpha(opacity=45);}
#s-lg-box-wrapper-22447367{opacity:0.76;
filter:alpha(opacity=76);
}#s-lg-box-wrapper-4998287{opacity:0.71;
filter:alpha(opacity=71);
}#s-lg-guide-search-box{display:none;}.s-lg-box-wrapper-22743143{opacity:.95;filter:alpha(opacity=95);}
#s-lg-box-wrapper-22739517{opacity:.95;filter:alpha(opacity=95);
}#s-lg-box-wrapper-22728214{opacity:.78;filter:alpha(opacity=78);
}#s-lib-footer-login-link{display:none;}#s-lg-box-wrapper-22726355{opacity:.58;filter:alpha(opacity=58);
}#s-lg-guide-tabs-title-bar{display:none;}

.s-lg-box-wrapper-23286581 {opacity:0.01;
filter:alpha(opacity=01);
}

.s-lg-box-wrapper-22722616 {opacity:0.82;
filter:alpha(opacity=82);
}


.s-lg-box-wrapper-23461207  {opacity:0.82;
filter:alpha(opacity=82); }

</style>


:


    Visit us on Instagram    Listen to our playlists on Spotify   Visit us on YouTube Visit us on Twitter
 

Jennie King Mellon Library | 0 Woodland Road | Pittsburgh, PA 15232 | 412-365-1670 | Maps & Directions | Site map
 

Chatham Home