Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Home
Chatham's COVID-19 informational website
Archives COVID-19 Collection Project
  | | Click to open/download a PDF of Full Library Calendar in a new windowFall 2021 Calendar

Archives: Finding Aids

Library Home / Archives

Library Home /FINDING AIDS

 

Browse through finding aids to see descriptions of archival collections and to gain access to archival records.  Finding aids are guides or inventories of the contents of archival collections that allow researchers to quickly survey across wide swaths of records to easily find relevant material.  Researchers can use the sections of finding aids, described below, to hone their search towards their research needs. Contact the archives with questions or requests.

 
https://archives.library.chatham.edu/

Visit our finding aids to learn about the history of Chatham University and the Chatham University since its founding in 1869.

 

Biographical or Historical Information

The Biographical or Historical Information note provides a history of the organization, person, or family that created or accumulated the material described in the finding aid.  In the case of an organization, the note describes the structural and functional responsibilities and any administrative changes relating to records transfers.  This information provides researchers with information about how the materials were created.

 

Scope and Content

The Scope and Content note provides a summary of the intellectual content of the materials, the types of records to be found, any gaps or deficiencies, and any items of special note.  This note may also describe the function and use of materials or the types of information contained therein.

 

Dates

The Dates element often contains two distinct dates: a created date and a bulk date.  The created date indicates the dates when the collection materials were created.  The bulk date identifies if a majority of materials fall within a smaller date range than the created date. 

 

Collection Organization

The Collection Organization describes the intellectual arrangement of the materials.  This may be a narrative statement or also include a hierarchical list of subgroups, series, or subseries by which the materials are organized. Series are groupings of materials arranged systematically or maintained as a unit because they relate to a function or subject.  In some instances, a series will also contain groups of related material that can be arranged as sub-series to further organize the collection.

 

Container Inventory

The Container Inventory is a box and folder listing of the materials described by the finding aid and refers to their physical arrangement.  In some cases, such as with oversized materials, the items will be housed in a separate container than other items in the same series.

Catherine R. Miller Collection 1755-1955
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham College Coeducation Debate Collection 1890-1990 1989-1990
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes Collection 1869-2015 1869 - 2006, 2009, 2011 - 2015
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Center for Regional Agriculture, Foodways, and Transformation Collection 2017-2019
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Commencement Program Collection 1870-2018
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Faculty Manuals
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Faculty Meeting Minutes
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Music Department Collection 1870-2016
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Rachel Carson Institute Records 1986-2008, 2011-2012
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Student Handbook Collection 1923 – 1982, 1985 – 2003, 2011 - 2015
  Go to the Finding Aid

Chatham University Student Newspaper Collection 1895-2018
  Go to the Finding Aid

Collection on Rachel Carson 1910-1964 1925-1964
  Go to the Finding Aid

Eden Hall Collection 1881-2007
  Go to the Finding Aid

Edna McKee-Houston Scrapbooks 1897-1911 1904-1907
  Go to the Finding Aid

Eleanor Harbison Bream Letters and Diary 1930-1962 1955-1962
  Go to the Finding Aid

Elizabeth Corey Wallis Collection 1924-1928
  Go to the Finding Aid

Jerry L. Caplan Papers 1930-2004 1980-2004
  Go to the Finding Aid

John W. Cummins Collection 1953-1989
  Go to the Finding Aid

Laberta Dysart Collection 1931-1969 1940-1959
  Go to the Finding Aid

Martha J. Crandall Scrapbook 1913-1917
  Go to the Finding Aid

The Minor Bird Collection 1929-1938, 1949-1992, 2005-2014, 2018
  Go to the Finding Aid

Pittsburgh Female College Association Collection 1854-1993
  Go to the Finding Aid

Ruth J. Snowdon Papers 1911-1976
  Go to the Finding Aid

Virginia Sager Papers 1944-1948
  Go to the Finding Aid


Archives Home


:


    Visit us on Instagram    Listen to our playlists on Spotify   Visit us on YouTube Visit us on Twitter
 

Jennie King Mellon Library | 0 Woodland Road | Pittsburgh, PA 15232 | 412-365-1670 | Maps & Directions | Site map
 

Chatham Home