The Chatham University Archives & Special Collections are open to all students, faculty, staff, alumni and the public.
The University Archives housed in the Jennie King Mellon Library at Chatham University serves to collect, preserve, and make available records and information of continuing value to the Chatham community. These materials document the history and growth of Chatham University from a small women's college to a thriving coeducational institution and highlight the activities of Chatham's faculty, staff, students, and alumni. In support of the university's educational mission, we strive to work closely with faculty and provide students with opportunities to learn about the research value of archival materials.
Visit the Chatham Archives Digital, a collection of online exhibits featuring material from the Chatham University Archives.
Explore exhibits ranging in topic from the U.S. Women's Suffrage Movement to the 1972 Tour of Europe by the Chatham Choir. These exhibits, and others still in development, present the history of Chatham University (formerly Pennsylvania Female College, Pennsylvania College for Women, and Chatham College) within broader contexts, like the efforts to achieve universal suffrage in the United States. Likewise, these materials highlight the Chatham community off-campus as performers signing in Lucca, Italy and as activists on the steps of City Hall.
Rachel Carson, one of the world's most influential nature writers, graduated from the Pennsylvania College for Women (now Chatham) with a degree in science in 1929. Silent Spring, her most famous book, led to the banning of DDT, the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, as well as the groundswell of public opinion and mobilization that led to the modern day environmental movement.
Through a grant from the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, the Jennie King Library has organized a collection of Rachel Carson and the Rachel Carson Institute materials. This site contains information about this collection as well as links to other sources of information.
Rachel Carson and the Championship Hockey Team in a 1928 yearbook photograph.
The Minor Bird has been Chatham University’s Undergraduate Literary Magazine since 1929. It is a student-led, student-driven program focused on creating a space for creative and critical writers and artists to display their work. The title for the publication was inspired by Robert Frost’s poem of the same name after the poet visited campus in the year of the first issue of The Minor Bird. Founded in 1869, Chatham University is located in Pittsburgh, PA and enrolls over 2200 students in over 60 undergraduate and graduate programs in areas of excellence that include: sustainability & health, business & communications, and the arts & sciences. Chatham has consistently been named a College of Distinction and a “Best College” by U.S. News & World Report, and the alma mater of environmental icon, Rachel Carson '29, is perennially ranked as one of the "greenest" colleges in the United States.