C19x: Home

The Chatham University Archives & Special Collections is launching an institution-wide project to encourage Chatham students, staff, and faculty to document their personal experiences during the coronavirus outbreak and contribute them to the University Archives.

While Chatham’s official response to the pandemic is being collected by University Archives, we recognize the value of collecting and preserving a more holistic record that records personal experiences, reactions, and responses.  All members of the campus community are invited and encouraged to participate. 

How to participate

All contributions are welcome!  Some may choose to write their experience as a poem, while others may choose to write a letter, a statement, or an essay.  Some may choose to record a voice memo.  Social media posts, photographs, and videos can also be submitted to the collection. 

Some may choose to share stories about the transition from campus to a home study/work space and some may focus on the shift to remote learning.  Some may highlight how they’ve stayed in contact with friends and family or how they’re marking campus milestones, like commencement, from a distance.  Topics like social distancing, volunteer mask-making, and self-quarantine may also be relevant.   

The submission process

• The Chatham University Archives & Special Collections can accept most formats, but feel free to reach out to M.tighe@chatham.edu if you have any questions.
• Please use this Google Form to submit your items.  The form includes an agreement allowing Chatham to preserve your submission and information about copyright and use of your content.
• If your submission includes other people, like a recorded conversation between you and your friends, please ask these participants to also fill out this Google Form.  We cannot keep content without releases from all participants.  Only one person will need to upload the files and co-creators can enter their personal information and description of the material.
• Submissions will not be made available to the public immediately.  After they are processed by University Archives staff, they will be made available to the public and with our online collections.

Be Safe and Help to Combat the Spread of COVID-19

Please heed city, county, and statewide orders regarding efforts to combat the spread of COVID-19 while self-documenting.  Practice social distancing, wash your hands frequently with soap and water, and cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue or your elbow.  Please refer to the CDC website and the Chatham Coronovirus Updates for additional guidance.

Support is available

The pandemic has affected the Chatham community is many ways.  Information about support services is available on the Chatham Cornoavirus FAQ page.